1
$\begingroup$

Does $A'(B' *C+ B* C')$ simplify to $A'(1)$? I'm a bit confused because I know that $A+A' *B = A +B$ so I'm wondering what happens in the above situation. I know this might be related to the two variable rule.

Note $*$ represents AND and $+$ represents OR

Thanks

$\endgroup$
12
  • $\begingroup$ @CameronWilliams yes! I edited the question to be clearer! And I made a typo in my equation that just fixed $\endgroup$ Jan 30 '20 at 19:11
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ This is false. Take $A=0, B=0,C=0$, then the left hand side evaluates to $0$ but $A'(1)$ evaluates to $1$. $\endgroup$
    – copper.hat
    Jan 30 '20 at 19:15
  • $\begingroup$ If you are stuck, with a small number of variables, just do a truth table. $\endgroup$
    – copper.hat
    Jan 30 '20 at 19:16
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Unless you are allowed to use an XOR this doesn't really simplify. $\endgroup$
    – copper.hat
    Jan 30 '20 at 19:18
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Ok. Thanks so much Cameron Williams and @copper.hat this has been very helpful to me! $\endgroup$ Jan 30 '20 at 19:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.