0
$\begingroup$

Players $A$ and $B$ alternately had the opportunity to claim or pass a growing pile of dimes (maximum of 10) placed on the table.

Suppose rules of game were changed so that

Two rounds of game are played with the same two players $A$ and $B$. In the first round, $A$ may not keep more than five dimes, and $B$ may not keep more than nine. Find the rollback equilibrium strategies for each player.

My question is

I am not understanding this statement In the first round, $A$ may not keep more than five dimes, and $B$ may not keep more than nine. In original game as shown below, whosever ($A$ or $B$) turn is take entire amount or pass it. But here it is stated that $A$ may not keep more than five dimes and $B$ may not keep more than nine, than where does remaining amount in growing pile goes?

I am assuming rounds here mean the same game (entire upto amount $100$) is played multiple times?

In original centipede game will stop at very first step; that is player $A$ choose to take $10$ dime. Does playing same game two times build confidence among players and game will not stop at very first step? Original Centipede game

$\endgroup$
0
$\begingroup$

In odd rounds, when $A$ has the right to claim, he collects up to five dimes and the rest stays in the pile (to be collected by $B$).

Similarly, in even rounds, $B$ has the right to claim but she collects up to nine dimensions (and leaves the rest to $A$).

| cite | improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.