Mathematics Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people studying math at any level and professionals in related fields. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I know the three Haar basis functions

//mother wavelet:
[1 1 -1 -1]
[1 -1 0 0] 
[0 0 1 -1]

However, the Haar basis consists of four basis elements: The mother wavelet, the translation, the dilation and another, fourth element, which I don't understand. According to this, this fourth element is

[1 1 1 1]

But how would this one look like, and how is it obtained (dilation/translation, whatever combination)? This confuses me.

Btw: is the Haar basis defined as

[ 1  1  1  1
  1  1 -1 -1
  1 -1  0  0
  0  0  1 -1]

or as the transpose of this?

share|cite|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

If I understand the notation right, it looks like the [1 1 1 1] element is just the DC coefficient, i.e. the mean of the input signal.

By symmetry, the Haar wavelet integrates to 0 over its domain. Thus, if you didn't include the DC coefficient, adding a constant bias to the input signal would not change its Haar transform at all.

share|cite|improve this answer
This has been very helpful, thanks! Say, I want to apply H_4 (as given above) to a signal x, do I use the matrix I gave above or its transpose? Just to be clear of the definition. – ptikobj Aug 21 '11 at 14:19
@ptikobj: That surely depends on whether you're using row or column vectors to represent your data. (If you're using column vectors, I assume you should use the matrix as given. If you're using row vectors, use the transpose.) – Ilmari Karonen Aug 21 '11 at 18:05

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.