Mathematics Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people studying math at any level and professionals in related fields. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I would like to understand the structure of the subrings A of the ring of formal power series k[[t]] (where k is a field) which satisfy the condition (A : k[[t]]) $\neq$ {0} and k $\subset$ A. Are they of the form {a$\in$ k[[t]] | v(a)$\geq$ n} + k ?

v is the order of the formal power series and (A : k[[t]]) = {a $\in$ k[[t]] | a k[[t]] $\subset$ A}. Would someone help me with that?

share|cite|improve this question
No, they are not. Consider the $k$-algebra $k \oplus t^2.k \oplus t^4.k[[t]]$. – user10676 May 2 '12 at 19:53
what do you mean? the power series with only even powers? it doesn't satisfy (A : k[[t]]) $\neq$ {0} – user30486 May 2 '12 at 20:06
No, I mean powers series with powers greater than $4$ or equal to $2$ or $0$. This contains every power series with valuation greater than $4$. – user10676 May 2 '12 at 23:23

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.